Souder, Miller & Associates Host Sixth Annual Native American STEM Scholarship Reception

August 13th, 2018

Navajo Nation President Russell Begaye speaks to attendees of SMA's sixth annual Native American STEM Scholarship Reception


August 13, 2018

Albuquerque, NM – Souder, Miller and Associates (SMA) hosted its sixth annual Native American Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Scholarship Reception at the company’s headquarters, located at 5454 Venice Avenue, in Albuquerque. Each recipient received a $6,000 scholarship to be used for tuition, fees, books or on-campus housing/meals.

In 2013, SMA started the Native American STEM scholarship program, which is an initiative to support lasting positive goals in tribal communities by bridging our commitment to providing successful projects with an active investment into tribal capacity development. In addition to the scholarship program, SMA contributes to capacity development through mentoring and hiring practices.

“SMA has always been deliberate about making positive impact in tribal communities by providing quality engineering and technical services, and customer support that is second to none,” said SMA board member, Richard Luarkie. “This same passion for positive impact inspires SMA to support the young people of our tribal communities, by providing scholarships that will help them achieve their educational and professional goals.  Giving back to community, genuine concern for our young people, and passion for our clients is at the heart of SMA.  We look forward to great things from the scholarship recipients.”

The program has contributed $113,500 to 24 undergraduate students since its inception. SMA professionals donate time and resources to important student functions including New Mexico RES Conference Student Day sponsorship, mentoring at the Santa Fe Indian School, mentoring students through their efforts to pursue STEM careers, and hosting college interns each semester in SMA offices.

Following is a list of 2018 recipients:

  • Jacob Belin – Navajo Nation
  • Derek Capitan – Laguna Pueblo
  • Ethan Darwin – Navajo Nation
  • Nicholas Dorame – Tesuque Pueblo
  • Lennard Hoskie – Navajo Nation
  • Tamia Pete – Navajo Nation
  • Jack Soloio – Hopi Tribe
  • Kevin Wood – San Carlos Apache