NMWWA 66th Annual Awards

February 01st, 2021

Last Friday (1/29/2021), the New Mexico Water and Wastewater Association (NMWWA) held its 66th Annual Award Ceremony in virtual format.

SMA’s own Armando Cordero received the Doug Roby Instructor of the Year Award at the event. The award is named after Mr. Doug Roby, a pillar of the NMWWA community, whose expertise and guidance helped to graduate more than 700 students from the Water Technology Program at Doña Ana Community College over the course of his 36 years with the program. The award is presented to the instructor who has demonstrated excellence in teaching at one of the 3 NMWWA schools.

Armando has an excellent track record within the association: he is currently serving his 3rd (non-consecutive) term as the NMWWA President and is the only individual in the association’s history to have received the John W. Clark award twice.

Armando’s exceptional standard of workmanship in all of his efforts as a part of the NMWWA and on behalf of SMA, undoubtedly contributed to his achievement here. Congratulations on your achievement Armando, we’re proud to have you on our team!

Additionally, Doña Ana Mutual Domestic Water Consumers Association’s (DAMDWCA) District 5 Wastewater Treatment Plant received the Section President’s Award for Most Improved Facility in 2020 for the southwest division. This award is given to water or wastewater facilities for efforts to improve or renovate themselves over the course of a given year.

SMA completed planning, permitting, design and construction for the wastewater facility. Recent improvements to the facility include: upgraded secondary treatment standards, improved sludge handling and disposal, an added reuse pumping plan, an added emergency pond, and automation implementation to facility processes.

Congratulations to DAMDWCA for this achievement!